Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

Since its original publication in 1938, Think and Grow Rich has sold about a quazillionbilliontrillion copies. For realzies. It’s all about how realizing your dreams–using visualization, positive thinking/energy flow, and perseverance are the way to achieve fabulous wealth. There’s no formula for getting rich while sleeping??

Dang it. There go my plans… ThinkAndGrowRich3

Written around the time of the Great Depression, TAGR was probably one of the first (if not THE first) motivational book on making money. I’m sure it’s inspired tons of people to pursue their dreams over the last several decades. My only problem with the book is that it was written during the time where America was still portrayed as “the land of opportunities” and that the “streets are paved with gold.” Flash forward seventy-five years, and things don’t seem quite so peachy. It’s much more difficult than it once was to just contact the head of a company and, say, get a book published, or land your dream job. College degrees hardly mean much anymore.

While I definitely support the ideas that Hill demonstrates, like self-confidence, dreaming big, and not taking no for an answer–his “answer” to all our modern-day money woes seem to be a little out of reach. (Plus, his suggestion to channel all excess sexual energy into productivity is just… strange.)

I feel pressured by society to rate this book higher, but for application with MY generation, I feel like it deserves:

3 dolla dolla bills ya’ll of 5

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

