War for the Oaks by Emma Bull

I’m sitting here trying to think of how I felt while reading War for the Oaks and I’m really having a hard time remembering any sort of emotional response. I wasn’t thrilled, I wasn’t disappointed, I wasn’t really that captivated…. Eh… It was just another in a long line of books that I will probably never pick up again.

That being said, I TOTALLY give it mad props for being what it is—Bull published it in 1987 and really it was one of the first books of its kind. She helped establish one of my all time favorite genres, urban fantasy, and for that I will forever be grateful. Not to mention, she’s made a cameo in some of my favorite anthologies–the Bordertown series, the Firebird anthologies, and The Faery Reel. Love love love.

So honestly, I can’t talk too much smack about it. It was her first book and for the love of god, it was set in the 80’s! Eddi McCandry is part of a wannabe famous rock group, but when her lead singer boyfriend dumps her and the band splits up, she understandably feels a little low. Too bad she doesn’t have time to wallow in it, cause pretty soon all of the Fairy realm comes knocking at her door. Ok, well not knocking… barking. Let’s just say one very annoying shape-shifting phooka gets her smack-dab in the middle of a fairy war. warforoaks

But also gives her the potential to be a member of the greatest rock band of all time!

What to do?? *cue cheesy synthesizer music*

Honestly, when you picture urban fantasy mixed with the 80’s, does anything OTHER than David Bowie’s crotch come to mind? (The Labyrinth, duh). I couldn’t help but giggle when Bull described the character’s outfits and musical stylings. Looking back on the 80’s… they were a terrible time. Bull’s dialogue was a bit cheesy and her characters were pretty predictable, but the Phooka was her saving grace. (By the way, if you claim to have pictured anyone other than Prince to play him in your mind, you are lying).

I enjoyed it, and I thank her for helping to create urban fantasy–but this one I think it’s safe to pass on.

3 puffy sleeves of 5

 

 

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

