Animal Farm by George Orwell

cover

Oh, George Orwell… You crazy old coot. Animal Farm was not at all what I expected, yet TOTALLY enhanced by the rad illustrations. I read the 50th anniversary edition–depicted by none other than the famous Ralph Steadman–most well-known for his collaborations with Hunter S. Thompson. His addition of chicken cloacas, donkey penises, and pig anuses definitely livened things up a bit… (No, but seriously…)

Orwell’s classic tale is an allegory of government control and the gradual capitulation of power by the ignorant masses. By letting others lead us without question, we allow ourselves to become vulnerable to manipulation and absolute control. The poor dumb farm animals are us, and the pigs in power are our “leaders.”

They always have our best interests at heart, right?

I’m really not one for waxing political, but I think this story is a simple way to understand what happens when we are too eager for someone else to take the reins. *neigh*

4 work horses of 5

ralph2

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

2 responses to “Animal Farm by George Orwell

  • treehugger8700

    I totally loved this book, especially how quick and easy it was. Did it strike you as though it had been written with the intent of becoming a movie?

  • kainzow06

    There’s more to this book than simple allegories.
    I love how Orwell recreates major events regarding the Russian Revolution in his book.Virtually everyone and everything represent someone and something!
    A masterpiece! 🙂

Leave a Reply

