Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

Ok, ok… Color me surprised. Glow ended up being a lot more engrossing and entertaining than I expected. Frankly, the market is glutted with teen dramas and post-apocalyptic novels and most of these are just trash.

(That’s what happens when you demand quantity, not quality, you dick publishing companies!) Glow

But I digress, Glow flips POVs between Waverly Marshall and Kieran Alden. They have been pretty much betrothed to each other from day one, but when Kieren proposes to Waverly shit gets real. They’re only fifteen, but such young matches are encouraged by their fertility-troubled parents. K&W are part of the first generation successfully conceived in deep space and onboard the Empyrean you’re expected to start early for the benefit of the human race. Gotta have a population to help colonize the new earth, right?

The real problems start when the companion ship, New Horizon, gets too close for comfort. As it turns out, they ARE there for their own nefarious purposes–ALL the girls are abducted and most of Empyrean’s adults are killed or out of commission. That leaves Kieran and the boys alone to man the ship in a kind of intergalactic Lord of the Flies-type scenario. And as for what Waverly experiences onboard the New Horizon… Let’s just say she probably would rather face a nuclear meltdown…

I really enjoyed this book and I’ve totally lucked out on space reads this year. This one is really well done and it moves away from the typical YA fiction trends. It was one of those stories I could read without my finger marking where the next chapter is… *sigh* Seven more pages to go…

I’ll definitely be reading Spark when I can get my hands on it!

4 nebulas of 5

Glow-Trailer

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

One response to “Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

  • treehugger8700

    Oh man, that idea of keeping your finger marking the next chapter is totally going to get stolen. That’s what’s going on with the book I’m reading right now : /

Leave a Reply

