The Unicorn Chronicles by Bruce Coville

covers_spread

It would be a severe underestimation to say I have been waiting for this series to be finished for a “long” time. Try practically my whole life! Let’s just put it this way: Into the Land of the Unicorns was published in 1994. Song of the Wanderer came out in 1999. And (wait for it….) NOTHING CAME AFTER THAT FOR YEARS! No, but seriously, years. I think this may have been the biggest literary “left hanging” experience I’ve ever had. Finally, after I FREAKING GREW UP (sorta) Dark Whispers was released in 2008 quickly followed by The Last Hunt in 2010.

A few weeks ago, I took the library by storm and finally finished a dusty chapter of my childhood.

The story begins when our young protagonist Cara is unceremoniously dropped into Luster as a last-ditch effort to escape a scary man that is chasing her and her grandma. Turns out grandma wasn’t exactly up front about her past life or Cara’s parents. In her younger, wilder years she was known as “the Wanderer” and befriended many magical creatures during her time in Luster–most especially the unicorns.

But unfortunately for Cara, she’s landed right in the middle of a centuries-old battle. Beloved–an ageless harpy with a personal vendetta against the unicorns–seeks to use the little girl’s amulet to get into Luster and slay the unicorns into extinction. OH SNAP.

That’s all I’m going to tell you, because you really need to read this series for yourself. I am SO happy that these books’ magic didn’t fade by being looked upon with adult eyes. Luster is an amazing world and all the creatures in it are beautiful and terrifying. And some have some surprising origins. (At one point I screamed “NO EFFING WAY!!”) I really have no complaints, and it doesn’t surprise me that Coville took 20 years to complete this series. There’s a lot of converging characters and A LOT of plot points. His world is very thought-out and researched.

And Medafil the griffin made me laugh out loud. I adored him.

Please please experience these books for yourselves!

5 silverly laughs of 5

0545128072.1.zoom

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

