Eon by Alison Goodman

So sometimes I like to fantasize that I was Asian in a past life. I’m absolutely enthralled by Ancient China and Japan and I think their cultures and beliefs are some of the most interesting that have ever existed. Dragons and guardians and energy and fireworks… How could you not love it?

I’m burning incense just thinking about it. eon

Mulan was always one of my favorite Disney movies as a kid. She wasn’t a princess, she was a warrior. I admired her the most because she was one of the few female characters Disney presented as strong and independent–she wasn’t wrapped around a man and she certainly didn’t need rescuing. She was the anti-damsel in distress.

Eon by Alison Goodman reminded me of Mulan in a lot of ways. We’ve got a cross-dressing young girl with a lot of responsibility on her shoulders. And dragons. And an emperor’s fate riding on her shoulders. Good stuff.

Eon is a 16 year old girl disguised as a 12 year old boy. She has the rare gift of Dragon Sight, her’s made even more rare because she can see all twelve Asian dragons and not just the one she could possibly link to

When the day comes the Council must choose a new Dragoneye Apprentice, Eon has her work cut out for her–not only because she’s a girl in drag, but also because one of her hips was crippled in an accident. But her Master’s fortune is resting on her performance.

The kicker is, once Eon is chosen it’s not as if it’s all fun and games from there. She must contend with the evil Lord Ito and Lord Sethon who oppose the good emperor and whom are trying to take over his throne. Not to mention that something seems to be wrong with the connection to her dragon. The more she assumes a masculine role, the more the dragon fades from her minds eye.

Hmmm…

I adored everything about this book and I fully intend to read the sequel. While it can be a little slow in some parts, all the dragon lore and dastardly plotting kept me awake well into the night. Girl power!

4 steamed dumplings of 5

dragon

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

