Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Since I tore through Divergent and my wonderful lover man bought me a kickass Kindle Fire HD last month, Insurgent was the next obvious choice on my reading list.

And I was not disappointed. 11735983

Roth has managed to create a dystopian Chicago that is very believable, and in Insurgent she has definitely upped the political ante. With Erudite leader Jeanine Matthews at the helm of a anarchist movement, it’s up to Tris, Four, and the others to stop her. With Amity refusing to fight and Candor backed into a corner, who will come to the loyal Dauntless’ aid?

Four’s new alliance with the Factionless seems like the answer to their prayers, until a new piece of information is dangled in front of them. When Tris comes to the realization that the Factionless’ move against Jeanine might not be the right choice, she must choose between siding with Four or Four’s worst nightmare–his father.  But will their love last with this betrayal?

Or will they even survive?

Tris must battle the gut-wrenching sadness and guilt that are threatening to overwhelm her. She must embrace her Divergence and her newly found Divergent counterparts if they are to have any hope for a better tomorrow. And she must cheat death and disaster countless times.

I was really entertained by Insurgent. I don’t think it was better than Divergent–which held more of the new-world-building wonder and romantic intrigue. But it definitely set the ball rolling for some major things in the third book, and I am interested to see where it ends up. I just got a little tired of Erudite totally raping the other factions and their “wudda we do? wudda we do?” attitudes. None of them seemed very willing to stand up for themselves, which was weird.

And Tris and Four’s relationship irritated me a lot. It seems like they are both so harsh and unrelenting that it’s difficult for them to be together. You can’t have two “my way or the highway” people and expect it to work. Both of them kept too many secrets from the other, and it only ultimately lead to disaster. If it was real love he wouldn’t question her motives so often. But… maybe things will turn out for the best.

Divergence is a deviation from the norm and the ability to adapt to multiple situations/change according to what works best. And that’s what the new world order is going to need if Tris and her friends are to make it out alive.

There was a definite cliff-hanger at the end of the book, so I’m eagerly awaiting the third (final?) installment.

4 simulation serums of 5

 

 

 

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

