Divergent by Veronica Roth

Have you ever wondered what the world would be like if people of opposing viewpoints, attitudes, and opinions just completely split away from each other? Well, Veronica Roth introduces us to that idea in Divergent. Her dystopian society is split into five factions:

  • Dauntless– Those who value bravery and fearlessness more than anything else.
  • Erudite– People devoted to the pursuit of knowledge and new technology.
  • Amity– Citizens who seek happiness as their number one priority.
  • Candor– Those that are honest no matter how painful the truth can be.
  • Abnegation– People that view selflessness and sacrifice as the only way to achieve a greater good.

Which one would you belong to?

Which moral is your top priority?

Now what if I told you that you’d be raised in one faction, but on your 16th year you had the choice to change factions. You take a test to help determine your aptitude. But the caveat is, if you change factions–to become who you truly are–you must forsake your family from then on and give up the only life you’ve ever known. Pretty tough choice.

For Beatrice, her time is up. She soon must make the decision that will change her life forever. Will she give up Abnegation and her family? Or will her test results reveal something different?

I absolutely devoured Divergent. Not only do I love a good dystopian society novel, but I like the idea of the different factions. It was easy for me to see where I’d end up. Candor. With the rest of the brutally honest people. Haha. My family would be there too, I’m sure. I know for a fact I’m too chicken shit for Dauntless. There’s no way I’m jumping on and off and moving train every day!

Roth created an interesting world, and Beatrice was an interesting main character. I felt that there were some discrepancies in her character that couldn’t be explained away. How does one raised to be so meek and timid so easily become a fighter? She got to be pretty tough pretty quickly, and although she may have had some innate qualities that would’ve eventually come forward–it all seemed like it happened pretty fast. I just couldn’t quite picture this little mousy blonde girl having this other kick ass side.

But maybe that’s just a flaw on my part.

That being said, I will definitely be continuing the series. I can’t wait to see what happens next, and Divergent was over much too quickly. The fear simulations were really interesting–and totally terrifying to imagine. (Like I said, I’m not Dauntless material…) The bad guys were totally bad and the love interest was… interesting. It’s definitely a new favorite.

For those of you who’ve also read it, how did you feel?

5 ravening dogs of 5

Oh, and if you’d like to take the test to find out which faction you’d be in, click here. 

Let me know your results 😉

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

