Geektastic edited by Holly Black & Cecil Castellucci

Now, you might be thinking, Chelsea? A geek? A nerd? She’s tall and blonde and looks like everything geeks stand against.  

And you would be wrong.

I am a geek because I read everything I can get my hands on. I attend every Renaissance Festival I can, and have even been known to dress up on occasion. I own a mermaid tail that I actually swim in. I played World of Warcraft for three years straight (for the Horde!) and a small part of my heart will be forever dedicated to Tauren hunters. I can recite full passages from Harry Potter, gone to Platform 9 3/4, and visited HP World at Islands of Adventures.  And I have a Quidditch jersey and a Gryffindor scarf–even though Pottermore has sorted me into the Ravenclaw House. I have seen all the Star Wars AND all the Lord of the Rings–not to mention read all the way from The Hobbit to The Return of the King. I own a pair of vampire fangs and a set of elf ears. Thanks to my dear friends (who are very far away from me at the moment, but not forgotten) Wendy, Bret, Annie, Stephan, and Mike–I know the difference between chaotic neutral and chaotic good. (And thanks to Wendy especially, I know which qualities make a great Dungeon Master).

In short, I am a geek.

And proudly so.

Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd is definitely one of the more entertaining anthologies I’ve read in awhile. I’ve been busy touring around the Pip Pip Cheerio countryside, so it was nice to be able to pick up short stories and put them down just as quickly. I really liked that all types of geeks were represented within the stories. Trekkies, Hans Solo-Wannabes, Elvish Linguists, Gamer Geeks, Sci-Fi Nerds, Comic Book fans, Super Hero Worshippers, D&D Villians, Video Game Addicts, Old Horror Film Buffs and all their ilk. Basically all of my friends are well-represented.

As in all anthologies, there are some stories that are the cornerstones of the book, while the others sag a little in the middle. This is no exception to that rule, but still definitely worth it to those of us who can finish the phrase, “You remind me of the babe…”

3 of 5 mint-condition comics

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

