Our Trip to London :) 8-11-12

London was an amazing city. Amazingly busy that is. With the tail-end of the Olympics going on while we were there, literally hundreds of thousands of people bustled around us all day. It was a bit overwhelming. We were lucky enough to get to see SO MUCH in one day, thanks to the extremely convenient tube system London has. For next to no money you can rocket around the city all day, seeing things miles apart with ease. And sparing your poor feet–although tube or not, it didn’t much matter after 12 hours there. Wear you walking shoes, my friends!

King’s Cross Station was our first stop! As you saw in a previous post, I was dead-set on finding Platform 9 3/4 🙂

Inside King’s Cross I made a beeline for this little pastry shop called “Patisserie Valerie.” Jason and I both have hunger-induced rage problems, and after nit-picking each other like little bitches on the entire train ride from Epping, I realized it was time for some much needed breakfast.

This fruit tart will forever go down in history as “The Fruit Tart that Saved Jason from Terrible Physical Injury at the Claws of his Girlfriend Chelsea.”

On the tube!

Finally coming above land in the middle of the city. Cue David Bowie singing “Down in the Underground…” (The Labyrinth, duh!)

I found Sasquatch at Picadilly Circus! Hahah

Buckingham Palace! They were NOT letting anyone in, and you can’t see it but there were thousands and thousands of people outside the gates watching the “sprint-running” Olympic event.

If you look closely there at the bottom, you can see one of the guards 🙂

The gates were extremely ornate

Sprint walking is the silliest-looking sport I’ve ever seen. It looks like they have pooped their pants and are shuffling QUICKLY to find an emergency bathroom!

Big Ben!

The London Eye. We decided to skip riding it, because it would’ve cost us $60 American! Blegh

Westminster Abbey, so cool!

The South Bank Lion

Be prepared to hear this like, 827 times if you’re riding the tube…

Frozen yogurt cafe I really wanted to try but didn’t get a chance to. I ❤ Pinkberry at home.

We ate at a cute little Mexican grill in the city.

There were sex shops EVERYWHERE and we accidently wandered into the gay district. Hahah. Of course we had to explore! 😉

See how crowded it was?!

Went to the HUGE Nike store! How did they know?

This really neat clothing store, Top Shop, had little three little shoppettes inside. One for cupcakes, one for candy, and one for frozen yogurt. Genius, I say! Of course women want that!

The City of London is the smallest city in England. It’s actually within London and is only one square mile. It’s like a secret society!

How come every time you come around, my London London Bridge wanna go down? (Sorry, I had to…)

The London Bridge itself is actually rather a letdown, especially compared to this:

The Tower Bridge, made oh-so-famous by the Games this year.

Please ignore how absolutely hideous I look here. It was a long day, and at about this point we were both done…

And this is where I almost pissed my pants and was considering awkwardly peeing in an alleyway. The only thing that stopped me was the heavy foot traffic. There were no bathrooms to be found anywhere!

Phew! The end of a long but amazing day. Back at Epping Station (after mixing up trains and going MILES out of our way) and ready to head home.

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

