Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

Lisa See’s work is surprising fascinating. Previous to picking up her delightfully tragic novel Peony In Love, I never would’ve believed Ancient Imperial China could be so dang interesting. This confidence in See’s writing ability and historical accuracy drew me to Snow Flower and the Secret Fan.

The protagonist, Lily, is a lower-middle class second daughter to a quietly tense farming household. At a young age, a matchmaker realizes that Lily has great marriageable potential because of auspicious aspects of the girl’s signs. But the most unexpected thing of all–Lily discovers that she is to have a laotong (life-long sworn friend) with a little girl named Snow Flower. The excitement she feels upon hearing the news is nothing compared to the rich friendship that eventually develops over the course of a lifetime. But when Snow Flower’s future and status start going a much separate way from her own, how is Lily supposed to choose between propriety and deference to her in-laws and her much beloved friend?

I will say that Lisa See does a great job of painting a picture of what life was like (especially for women) in that ancient period. The way she describes textures and colors and scents really draws you into the story. However, I do with that she had explained the exact era in a bit more detail. (My guess would be the late-1800’s–it’s hard to say since the Chinese Empire lasted from 221 BC to 1912 AD).

Beautiful Moon was my favorite character, even though she had a very short role in the story. Lily seemed to strict and prim for Snow Flower to be friends with, and Snow Flower seemed so detached and strange to Lily. I never really felt an affection for Snow Flower, and it’s hard for me to swallow a culture where women had so little choice. 

I enjoyed reading SFATSF but not enough to read it again. It lacked the magic and myth of Peony in Love and while learning about the torturous foot-binding tradition was crazy–it wasn’t enough to carry a story about a half-hearted friendship. The friendship never seemed true to me, it just seemed like two lonely girls happy about finally getting some attention.

3 of 5 secret fans

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

