Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

“Grandma, what big teeth you have…”

I think we all remember the classic tale of Little Red Riding Hood. Picnic basket, grandma’s house, red cloak, little girl…drag queen wolf. Whatever. That story is dumb. Who would let a little girl wander off alone for miles in the dark, scary woods by herself? Especially a little girl who was dumb enough to mistake a wolf in a bonnet and nightgown for her grandmother. I mean…I know women tend to grow mustaches after menopause, but get real!

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce is not that story. Scarlett and Rosie March are two sisters with an irrevocable bond. After watching their grandmother Oma March be brutally murdered and consumed by a Fenris, the girls devote their lives to becoming expert hunters and killing all the werewolves they can. Scarlett’s obsession is fueled not only by the loss of her only dependable family member, but also because she lost her eye and suffered serious injury during the attack–physically and mentally scarring her for life. 

Unfortunately, Rosie doesn’t share her sister’s same obsession and longs to live a life of normalcy–learning to dance, going to school, falling in love… When long-time family friend Silas Reynolds starts to see Rosie as more than just his hunting partner’s little sister, her opportunity for a normal life calls her like a siren’s song. But how can she abandon Scarlett’s quest for vengeance and concern for other girls’ safety for something as trivial as love? Especially now, when the Fenris packs are on the prowl for the next Potential…

“Now our hearts link only when we’re hunting, when Scarlett looks at me with a sort of beautiful excitement that’s more powerful than her scars and then tears after a Fenris as though her life depends on its death. I follow, always, because it’s the only time when our hearts beat in perfect harmony, the only time when I’m certain, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that we are one person broken in two.”

I usually enjoy fairy tale re-imaginings, and Sisters Red was no exception. I’m all about books with kick-ass heroines setting injustices right. I liked the Fenris as monsters, and I thought it was pretty believable the way Pearce spun them–part horror-movie monster and part creepy sexual predator. Nice. Also, the alternating points of view in every other chapter–switching between sisters–was well executed and didn’t take away from the story.

Through partial fault of my own (due to a very busy as of late personal life) it took me two weeks to finish this book. I’m not sure if it was because of my sporadic reading time, or simply a very-quickly driven plot, that made it seem like everything fell into place really quickly. I didn’t feel the anxiety the trio was under during their research, or really get into Scarlett’s obsession with hunting hunting hunting. I also thought Silas and Rosie got together a bit too seamlessly and I didn’t buy the whole “be all end all” of it.

I did like the fact that it was set in the South, and I’m partial to books with a supernatural flair that take place here…. (Anyone remember me reading the Beautiful Creatures series, or the Sookie Stackhouse series? Yep). Worth the read, Sisters Red had a bit more grit than a beach read but a little less teeth than Holly Black’s Ironside series.

3 keloid scars of 5

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

