One Day by David Nicholls

Ayiyi… One Day by David Nicholls. Where to begin. I am angry about this story for multiple reasons, and I will tell you not to read on from here if you plan on trying the book for yourself because…

I am about to SPOIL IT. THAT MEANS SPOILERS PEOPLE.

No really, don’t keep reading if you don’t want the story ruined.

This is my last warning.

Ok, to the rest of you that weren’t scared off–I will say three words. City. Of. Angels. You know, that tear-jerker from the 90’s with a less goofy-looking Nicolas Cage (if that’s even possible) and a pre-plastic surgery nightmare Meg Ryan.

*shudder* Anyway, I hope you’ve recovered from that. We’re moving on… Ok, picture City of Angels minus the whole heavenly boyfriend thing.

Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley meet at a post college graduation party. They make out all night and then climb a mountain hungover the next day. Thus begins a infuriating 20 year friendship/infatuation.

To make a long story short, I was tricked by the media into believing that this was a love story. No. This is a watch Emma waste her life, and watch Dexter F-up his life story. Each chapter is a “snap shot” of their relationship, as is, on July 15th every year. And let me tell you, I spent a good 18 to 20 years with these people before they were EVER EVEN IN A RELATIONSHIP. The whole book was Emma not knowing what to do with herself, besides feeling a smug sense of superiority over Dexter’s drug-addled, whore-mongering lifestyle as a TV presenter. Think Ryan Seacrest on coke. In the 80’s. Phew.

Plus, him GETTING SOMEONE ELSE PREGNANT AND MARRYING HER. What kind of love story is that? He’s a douche the whole time!

Then, finally after 20 YEARS of “friendship” they get together. After his nasty divorce from his cheating Meredith-from-Frasier type wife. They are happy. They are in love. They get married. She is the perfect step-mom.

And then, the unthinkable happens.

(Unthinkable, unless you are a Nicholas Sparks fan, however…)

SHE GETS HIT BY A CAR, WHILE RIDING A BICYCLE. AND DIES.

YES. AND DIES.

See the movie connection here? Just when things are getting good, after a lifetime of blah blah blah, she gets rubbed out. Just like that. Good thing the writing was dry enough that I didn’t feel sad about it. I’m only outraged because it seems so cliche. She dies in the end… Really? I’ve seen City of Angels and I’ve seen Moulin Rouge. And I’ve read Where the Red Fern Grows and watched The Land Before Time (which my mom felt SOOO guilty for buying, by the way…) Bambi. The Lion King. Nights in Rodanthe. A Walk to Remember.

You know where I’m going with this?

The whole false sense of security and love, only to have it ripped away from you in the end is incredibly overdone.

The harshness is well deserved. Does the world really need another story like this? The fact that it was a national bestseller just floors me.

Don’t bother with this book. And also, don’t dare ride a bicycle anywhere–especially if you’re a woman. Sheesh. Seems that motorists everywhere are just looking for love-struck women to mow down.

Boo.

1 of 5 stars

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

2 responses to “One Day by David Nicholls

  • Star Gazer (@itsFreelancer)

    I just read the book and I’m yet to watch the movie. But I loved it. I dunno why. Maybe because it isn’t a romance novel. Maybe because it feels like a mash of City of Angels and Serendipity or maybe because it feels closer to home. Its funny, I didn’t want a tear-jerker, I din’t want a perfect romance, I wanted a book that’s exactly ‘One Day’. Ofcourse he’s a douche. Someone has to to, if they spend 20 years not realising its love. I loved the way it was written. Atleast I didn’t want to know what they did the rest of the 364 days of the year for the last 20 years.

    • Chelsea McDonald

      I’m glad you felt that way. It’s nice to gain another perspective 🙂 If you watch the movie, let me know how it is.

Leave a Reply

