Slice of Cherry by Dia Reeves

Oh, Missus Reeves, how sick and twisted you are! Writing a YA book about two teenage serial killers… Female serial killers, no less!

Good for you…

I finished Slice of Cherry the other day, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. What’s not to love about two 15 year old girls obsessed with evisceration?

The story takes place in the little Texas town of Portero, a nowheresville known for strange monsters, doors that act as portals to other worlds, and the infamous “Bone Saw Killer”–who just happens to be Kit and Fancy’s father.

Unfortunately for the girls, the Bone Saw Killer has been aprehended and is awaiting execution on death row. Not to mention the fact that the sisters have begun to capitulate to the killing urges of their own… And what if their mother finds out?

And to make things even more interesting, two handsome brothers have been following Kit and Fancy around town. Looking for love, apparently. The only problem is that the Bone Saw Killer murdered their father. So is it really love, or is it revenge that the boys are looking for? Especially when it becomes obvious that crazed, sleep-walking Gabriel has killing urges of his own.

I really enjoyed this book, because it didn’t turn out the way I had anticipated–and that doesn’t happen very much anymore. I liked the twisted sickness of it, because most authors (especially YA authors) don’t dare go that far down the rabbit hole. The beginning was the best, because Kit’s cheerful, bubbly personality quickly turned psychopathic and blood-thirsty…that’s just a great combination. I wish that she had kept her murderousness longer though, and that Reeves had gone into the gruesomeness of the girls’ crimes with a little more detail. The town of Portero was extremely interesting in and of itself, and I would’ve appreciated learning more about the culture and the deviant forms of wildlife that called the dark forests home.

I also wanted there to be more explanation for the body-part trees (in Fancy’s “happy place”). More detail about their functionality would’ve been interesting. Also, Cherry should’ve appeared at least two more times throughout the course of the story.

But all in all, it’s definitely something different. Although Slice of Cherry didn’t make me stay up all night biting my nails (the true hallmark of a page-turner) it’s still worth your while.

This book will make you reconsider underestimating teenagers…

3.5 of 5 stars

 

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

