Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts

Sorry about the long pause between postings, it’s exam week and my final few days in college before graduation. I’m so excited! But with great power comes great responsibility, as we all know… Unfortunately that great power comes in the form of term papers, exams in languages I don’t know, and coordinating family members who don’t like each other.

However, somehow in all this madness I had time to read Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts. And boy, I’m glad I did. (My dreams were not happy, but I was entertained nevertheless). 

Her first novel–by her own description–combines The Road and 28 Days Later. Neither of which I’ve seen, since I’m a big chicken and I hate things jumping out at me. (Whatever, judge me all you want, but watching people get tortured à la The Human Centipede is not my idea of a good time).

The story takes place in a world suddenly ravaged by natural distasters, terrorist attacks, and a hypothesized virus/body snatcher that turns normal people into savage blood-thirsty killers. And not in the dead-eyed shuffling zombie way. I’m talking cognisant, hunt-you-down-and-drag-you-kicking-and-screaming-from-your-house killers. And guess what? To top it all off the power is out, cell phones and radios don’t work, and police and doctors are just as likely to kill you as anyone else–so what do you do?

Something about the way this book was written really freaked me out. It had a believability that a lot of other horror novels don’t have. Roberts made this scenario seem like it could really happen. It posed the question that, if the absence of communication–which has so long been our crutch–is kicked out from under us, how many people would really know how to survive?

The plot was a bit cheap, and getting to really know any one of the four main characters was not really possible because of the constant action–but in this case it worked. The story represented the world as a whole, and the action was the focal point, not the participants. But, the events and the cringe-inducing violence were enough to scare me, even with the lights on and a sleeping boyfriend by my side. So that’s a success in my book.

Definitely worth the read if you’re in for a bit of a creep-fest.

5 of 5 stars

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

