Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner was a book lent to me with the mysterious line, I think you’ll like it… Hmmm. Economics? Not really my best selling point. Visions of high school math class–the droning teachers and indecipherable equations–swam before my eyes every time I even looked at the cover. It sat on my night table for over a month before I cracked it open. But man, when I cracked it open, I couldn’t put it down!  

Levitt is the main author of this book, and Dubner mostly helps him along the way. Together, they accomplish an almost impossible feat. They make reading about the economy interesting.  Full of insightful social commentary and interesting experiments, Freakonomics really makes you consider how events (from everyday to historical) shape the world around us.

It poses titillating questions like:

  • What do teachers and sumo wrestlers have in common?
  • How is the KKK similar to real estate agents?
  • Why do drug dealers still live with their moms?
  • What was the event that caused 7 million American children to disappear overnight, yet never made the news?
And many more…
I really haven’t much to complain about this book. It was a thoroughly consuming read and although it was outside my usual genre, I really enjoyed learning something new. I came out the other side of this book feeling a little bit more enlightened about life and not weighed down by technical jargon. Levitt presents the information in a way that is easy to understand for all.  A new favorite.
5 of 5 stars
About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

Leave a Reply

