You Have To Look Closely to See the Little Things…

The other day while Jason was at work, I decided to go explore some of the nature trails around the area. Once I got past the duck gathering place  AND the child gathering place… I saw some pretty cool things. The dirt trail was packed down hard from many years of use, and I had to stoop down or crouch to spot objects of interest. I learned that not only is England a haven for all manner of interesting plant species, but also insect species as well. Who would’ve known?

I also learned (the hard way) that aforementioned insects like to hide amongst the stinging nettles, assumedly to protect themselves from predators and curiously bumbling blondes…

Thistle Flower

Duck Eggshell

I was almost always alone, and was startled by nesting birds taking flight more than once…

Getting deeper in

This view of the weeping willow reminded me a lot of Lord of the Rings.

This little guy’s neon color is what stopped me in my tracks. I wonder what he’ll turn into?

“Ladybird, ladybird fly away home. Your house is on fire and your children are gone.”

Snails! So incredibly cute! They were my all time favorites of the day, but that’s not going to stop me from ordering escargot while I’m in Paris! (This is the part where I got stung…)

Snail Eggs

Good Luck :)

Unknown Bug

I picked up an interestingly shaped rock, and this was underneath. (Don’t worry, I replaced it!)

This little guy was crawling right across the path. I had to save him from a man walking his dog.

Dead vole. I wonder what left it there…

Coming home, I ran into Jason. We noticed this little guy sitting on the brick wall surrounding our flat. He’s a fly mimicking as a bee for defense. After a bit of research, turns out he’s a Volucella inanis–a species of hoverfly native to Europe that also aids in pollination.

Don’t forget to look closely, my dears! Please let me know what you see :)

About Chelsea McDonald

As an avid reader since I was big enough to hold a book, I continue to enjoy losing myself in the thrall of a good story on a daily basis. Since many of my cohorts do not share the same passion, Cracking Spines will be the perfect outlet to express my adulation or frustration concerning the books that cross my path. In this way, my loyal followers will be able to enjoy the stories that are worthwhile and avoid the duds altogether. I also have a Shelfari account at http://www.shelfari.com/chelseamcdonald15 View all posts by Chelsea McDonald

2 responses to “You Have To Look Closely to See the Little Things…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,044 other followers

